Communications Division

The Communications Division of the Hays Police Department has the primary responsibility of operating the Hays Communications Center, which serves as the public safety answering point (PSAP) for all of Ellis County. The Communications Division is the primary dispatch center for 10 public safety agencies and regularly assists several other agencies with various needs. Currently the Communications Division includes 9 full time dispatchers, 4 shift leads and the Communications Lieutenant. Dispatchers typically work 12-hour shifts, working 7 days over a 2-week period.

Agencies served:

  • Hays Police Department
  • Ellis County Sheriff’s Office
  • Ellis Police Department
  • Victoria Police Department
  • Fort Hays State University Police Department
  • Hays Fire Department
  • Ellis County Fire Department
  • Ellis Fire Department
  • Victoria Fire Department
  • Ellis County Emergency Medical Services
  • Kansas Wildlife and Parks – Law Enforcement Division
  • Ellis County Attorney’s Office
  • Hays City Prosecutor’s Office
  • Ellis County District Court – Court Services
  • Hays Municipal Court
  • Northwest Kansas Community Corrections
  • Kansas Department of Revenue – Alcoholic Beverage Control

Dispatch Photo