Public Library Board

Meetings: Held on the second Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m., Hays Public Library, 1205 Main Street. (Exceptions: January 13th meeting will be held in DHDC Conference Room - across the street from Library, and in November, the meeting will be held on Wed, November 17th)

The goal of the Hays Public Library Board is to secure the best possible Library they can for the people they serve. The Hays Public Library assembles, preserves and administers, in organized collections, books and related educational and recreational materials in order to promote the communication of ideas, an enlightened citizenship and enriched personal lives. They provide opportunity for recreation through the use of literature, music, films and other art forms. They seek to continually identify community needs, to provide programs of service to meet such needs and to cooperate with other organizations, agencies and institutions which can provide programs or services to meet community needs. They also strive to increase usage of library services by making the public aware of all resources through an active public relations plan and encourage the public to educate themselves continuously.

The Hays Public Library’s policy/code of ethics includes the American Library Association Freedom to Read Policy, the Library Bill of Rights and Confidentiality of Borrowers Records.


The Hays Public Library Board consists of 7 voting members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Commission, for terms of 4 years each. State law limits eligibility on this board to 2 consecutive terms (a person appointed to an unexpired term remains eligible for 2 consecutive 4-year terms upon completion of the unexpired term). In addition to the appointed members of the board, the Mayor shall be an ex officio member with the same powers as appointed members, but no person holding any office in the municipality shall be appointed a member while holding such office.

  • Shelley Bryant
    Expires April 22, 2025 (1st full term)
  • Amy Feauto
    Expires April 30, 2023 (2nd term)
  • David Goodlett
    Expires April 30, 2022 (4th term - nonconsecutive)
  • Patti Park
    Expires April 30, 2024 (2nd term)
  • Stacey Smith
    Expires April 30, 2022 (2nd term)
  • Mary Toepfer
    Expires April 22, 2025 (2nd term)
  • Katherine Wolfe
    Expires April 30, 2024 (2nd full term)
  • Mayor
    Ex Officio