Convention & Visitors Bureau Advisory Committee

Meetings: Meetings are to be held quarterly at noon at the Welcome Center, 2700 Vine Street. Following are the meeting dates for 2020:

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020

The Hays Convention and Visitors Bureau Advisory Committee’s mission is to seek ways to further encourage and promote the development of tourism and conventions in the City of Hays.


This Committee consists of eleven (11) voting members with 3-year terms including six members that are engaged in the hotel, motel, or tourist camp industry. In addition to the members of the Committee, the City Manager of the City of Hays, Kansas, and the Executive Director of the Hays Area Chamber of Commerce shall be ex officio members without the right to vote.

  • Reese Barrick (Sternberg Museum)
    Expires December 1, 2021 (4th term)
  • Elinda Mages (Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn)
    Expires December 1, 2022 - (3rd term - nonconsecutive)
  • (open position) (hotel rep)
    Expires December 1, 2022
  • John Griffith (Comfort Inn & Suites North)
    Expires December 1, 2021 (1st term)
  • Emmy VanDerWege (Fairfield by Marriott)
    Expires December 1, 2022 - (2nd term) 
  • Molly Gauger (At-Large Position)
    Expires December 1, 2020 - (1st term)
  • Sean Patel (EconoLodge)
    Expires December 1, 2020 - (2nd term)
  • Leigh Purdy (Comfort Inn and Suites)
    Expires December 1, 2020 - (2nd term)
  • (open position)
    Expires December 1, 2021
  • Stacey Smith (FHSU Tourism and Hospitality
    Expires December 1, 2020 (4th term)
  • Tammy Younger (Historic Fort Hays)
    Expires December 1, 2021 (3rd term)
  • Chamber of Commerce Executive Director
    Ex Officio Member
  • City Manager
    Ex Officio Member