Building Trades Board

Meetings:  Meetings held as needed (dates to be determined), 5:30 p.m., City Commission Chambers in City Hall, 1507 Main Street.

The Building Trades Board shall establish a minimum practical experience and degree of proficiency required for obtaining a license or certification. In order to hear and decide appeals of orders, decisions, or other determinations made by the building official relative to the applications and interpretations of the International Building Codes, Uniform Plumbing and Mechanical Codes, National Electrical Code, and the International Property Maintenance Code, the Building Trades Board shall adopt rules of procedure for conducting appeals and shall render all decisions and findings in writing to the appellant, with a duplicate copy to the building official.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


This Board consists of 9 voting members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Commission, serving 4-year terms, to include:

  • 2 members shall be licensed general, building or residential contractors of the city; 
  • 1 member shall be a licensed engineer and/or architect of the city;
  • 2 members shall be certified plumbers or heating, air conditioning, refrigeration, ventilation contractors of the city;
  • 2 members shall be electricians of the city;
  • 1 member shall be employed by the local utility company which supplies gas/electricity to the city of Hays;
  • 1 member shall be from the city at large. 

The Planning, Inspection, Enforcement Superintendent shall be an ex-officio, nonvoting member of the Board. Members are limited to two consecutive terms.

  • Mark Brackney (General Contractor)
    Expires August 27, 2019 (1st term)
  • Katherine Burnett (General Contractor)
    Expire August 27, 2019 (3rd term - non-consecutive) - unexpired
  • T. J. Hallam (At-large)
    Expires August 27, 2020 (1st term) - unexpired
  • Robert Meier (Electrical)
    Expires August 27, 2020 (2nd term)
  • Jacob Proffitt (Plumbing/Mechanical Rep.)
    Expires August 27, 2020 (1st term)
  • Adam Sabatka (Plumbing/Mechanical Rep)
    Expires August 27, 2020 (1st term)
  • Chris Teeter (Electrical)
    Expired August 27, 2019 (1st term - unexpired)
  • Neal Younger (Midwest Energy
    Expires August 27, 2019 (1st term)
  • (Open Position)(Architect/Engineer)
    Expires 8-27-19